Sagada Tour with Ken-U-Tour

It feels like we’ve exhausted Philippine’s most famous destinations, but a trip to Sagada, which is also a top destination, has long been delayed. Just thinking about being on a road full of swerves and bumps for 12++ hours is not too appealing, especially when we can score a seat sale and reach an awesome place in 1-2 hours only, so we always end up shelving the idea whenever it crosses.

Who would have thought that the only motivation I needed was a really bad and stressful day at the office? I just got out of a heated meeting and was feeling all drained up, I desperately wished for a time-off as I sulk in front of my computer . As if a commercial on cue, images of Banaue and Sagada’s sprawling greenery popped out of my head. I swear, I could smell the mountain pine freshness and feel the cool breeze while sipping my 3rd coffee of the day while seated in yet another meeting.

I called up my mom and my brother and asked them to join, so the travelling gang is now 4 persons than the usual 2. Since it was unplanned I don’t have an itinerary and a huge budget, both of which I can’t possibly come up with in a week’s time. I needed something affordable, fast , and convenient – all that spells one thing: Group Tours.

I relied on olx.com.ph to find local operators and within seconds of keying in “Sagada tour” an endless list of tour providers and tour packages was out. Most group tour ads have the same price range from Php3000 – Php3500 and have similar itinerary and inclusions. What grabbed my attention for Ken-U-Tour was that they are based in San Pedro, Laguna which is just a 15 minute jeepney ride from our place which means more savings and convenience for me. Yey!

I immediately texted the number on the ad and inquired if there are still available slots. The travel gods must have thought it is really time for me to discover the Sagada’s best kept secrets, that in minutes time I received a reply that there are 4 last slots available. Without a minute to lose, I deposited Php500/person downpayment to their BDO account to secure the slots.

Sagada Ken-U-Tour
Inside Lumiang Cave, together with other joiners.

Here’s what’s included in the package.

PACKAGE INCLUSIONS:

  • – 3 days and 2 nights room accommodation
  • – Roundtrip private transportation service
  • – Entrance fees
  • – Guide fees
  • – Driver’s and coordinator’s meals and accommodation
  • – Gas and toll fees
  • **Meals are not included

PLACES to VISIT:

  • – Banaue View Points
  • – Tour Around Sagada
  • – Sumaguing Cave (normal caving 2-3 hrs)
  • – Lumiang Cave
  • – Bomod-ok Bigfalls
  • – Kiltepan Tower
  • – Echo Valley
  • – St. Mary’s Church
  • – Sagada Weaving
  • – Sagada Pottery House
  • – Lake Danum
  • – Baguio

So, here’s what I think about Ken-U-Tour’s Sagada tour:

Price: Affordable. Just right. They have competitive rates which is within the normal range of Sagada group tours. Maybe if you’re going to book them for private tours, the rental will still be negotiable.

Driving Style: Tolerable. There were times when I thought that Ken was driving too fast, and was concerned since we were traversing sharp curves. I just kept confidence into thinking that he’s mastered the road’s twists and turns since he’s driven on the route infinite times already.

Vehicle: Hi-Ace Grandia (White). There were 12 of us in the vehicle, 3 persons each row. It was not crowded but the legroom is slightly cramped. I am only 4’10” so it wasn’t really an issue to me but Moks who is 5’10” had a hard time squeezing his legs. The air-conditioning was working perfectly, so it was a comfortable ride.

Itinerary: Very Good. It covers everything a Sagada first-timer should do, and since they provide you with the guide and van transfers, you go through everything with ease and convenience. The guides are very knowledgeable of the history and facts of the places you’re visiting.

Accommodation: Could have been better. We were brought to Residential Lodge and was given a quad sharing room which was clean and had adequate space. There was a queen bed and a bunker bed made of wood that have comfortable mattresses. Linens and pillows were clean and there were tables to put your belongings. I was initially told during reservation that our room will have a private bathroom (which is a huge deal for me) but when we got there we were assigned a shared bathroom. The shared bathroom was clean, but since I preferred and expected our own bathroom I felt like we were let down.

Ken/Rowie/Staff: Very Good. From the day I inquired, they were responsive and answered all my questions promptly. They are very accommodating, they try their best to grant requests (i.e. extension of slot holding for one more day, pick-up / drop-off in San Pedro at no additional cost, drive-up to Lemon House to order pasalubong), and are very knowledgeable of the place and activities in Sagada.

Other Things, Tips and Tricks for Group Tour joiners

  • Seat arrangement in the van is on first-come-first served basis. Since, we were the last group to reserve we were seated at the back. This was a big deal for my mom and my brother since they get road-sick easily. As you know, seats at the back are more bumpy which adds to the road-sickness. My mom got sick on our way to Sagada, while my brother on our way back to Laguna. It didn’t help that no one was willing to exchange seats with them so they had to “let-out”a few times during the trip. The best seats are in the first row since it will be less bumpy and you will have more legroom which is another plus considering the long travel.
  • Bring a neck pillow. Seats do not have headrest so you’ll end up having stiff neck if you try to rest your head low while sleeping. Also, your head will slide off easily whenever the vehicle swerves so it’s a good idea to invest in a heavy duty neck pillow.
  • Bring earplugs. I didn’t manage to sleep the entire trip from Laguna to Sagada because I was unusually sensitive to the stereo volume that night. I understand that Ken needs to have some music in the background to keep him company during the drive so I didn’t really mind this but the other people in the group woke up several times during the trip and would start chatting and munching on chips. If you’re the type who can’t sleep with these types of noises, then you better bring earplugs.
  •  Not just for Ken-U-Tour but for all group tours, you have to deal with other people in your group. This might work if you’re an extrovert type who enjoys meeting new people and interacting with them. But for me who is slightly introverted, I want to enjoy my trips at my own pace and style.

Overall, we all enjoyed the trip prepared by Ken-U-Tour. Though I am not a big fan of package or group tours, it was affordable, complete, and convenient, perfect for those spur of the moment travel plans. I will definitely consider booking with them again if I want to try the other trips they offer which includes Calaguas, Ilocos, Baler, and Bolinao.

Want to contact Ken-U-Tour? Reach Ken at 09282254581. They also have a Facebook account updated with their current tour packages and prices. Send my regards to Ken and Rowie and enjoy your trip!

Have you tried joining group tours? What’s the best and worst thing about it for you? Share your experiences below!

Leave a comment